Black Out Poetry

19 Jun

I have Addie to thank for this. I first heard of Black Out Poetry from Tyler Knott who happens to be the one of the inspirations of Addie. I have always admired the guy for his creativity and eloquence. Check him out and you’ll know what I mean. Another artist who writes Black Out Poetry is Austin Kleon — I discovered his talent through Addie.

As I went through Addie’s blog tonight, I realized that I have always wanted to try this Black Out Poetry thing, well, back to my tumblr days that is — but I never had the chance because my cluttered brain seems to be working all the time. It slipped off my mind and just came back a few hours ago, thanks to The Blackout Poetess, also known as Addie.

So, here it goes. My first shot at Black Out Poetry. Enjoy ;)

Note: I used a page from Nora Roberts’ book, Key of Light.

 *** BLACK OUT POETRY ***

A STORMING WRATH

Storm ripped over the mountains

Lightning strikes

Fire slammed

A sizzle of temper

Boiled with power

Maternal Wrath

An ominous rattling in her

26 Responses to “Black Out Poetry”

  1. SoHaiku July 19, 2012 at 11:40 PM #

    Nicely done. Where was the original from?

    • Sassy July 23, 2012 at 10:39 PM #

      Aww, thank you so much. It’s from Nora Roberts’ Key Of Light :)

  2. Ben Naga July 15, 2012 at 2:41 AM #

    Nice piece.

    • Sassy July 15, 2012 at 2:46 AM #

      Aww, thank you :)

  3. moverin June 20, 2012 at 5:17 PM #

    You should try magnetic poetry, you might like it.

    • Sassy June 20, 2012 at 5:58 PM #

      Aww, thank you. Maybe I will — when I get a chance.

  4. Linda Nietes June 20, 2012 at 2:22 AM #

    A good exercise for the brain. I should try it some time. Thanks for perking my interest on black out poetry.

  5. readinpleasure June 19, 2012 at 11:40 PM #

    This is just powerful

  6. Agatha-luise June 19, 2012 at 3:59 PM #

    I tried this once! Made an innocent article an erotic poem!

  7. BlackoutPoet June 19, 2012 at 12:24 PM #

    Congrats on your first piece! Maternal wrath is a very powerful force indeed :D Love it!

    • Sassy June 19, 2012 at 7:53 PM #

      Wow, thank you so much! :)

  8. Resa McConaghy June 19, 2012 at 3:03 AM #

    What a lot of fun. You definitely have a poetic knack

    • Sassy June 19, 2012 at 3:04 AM #

      Thank you, Hahah. I actually had fun doing this. ;)

  9. Neeraj Kumar June 19, 2012 at 2:07 AM #

    Its an outstanding output of very first effort.. nice piece!

    • Sassy June 19, 2012 at 2:29 AM #

      wow, thank you! :)

  10. sharingmemyselfandi June 19, 2012 at 1:39 AM #

    Cool – never heard of such a thing. I may have to try this sometime!

    • Sassy June 19, 2012 at 1:45 AM #

      Hola Maestra! You should give it a try. It’s a good exercise for the brain ;)

  11. David June 19, 2012 at 1:34 AM #

    wow!!!!!! the essence of your message….it’s the core of everything…love it

    • Sassy June 19, 2012 at 1:46 AM #

      Thank you for the compliment! :)

  12. Addie June 19, 2012 at 1:06 AM #

    Thanks for the shout-out. The poem is very Zeus! Or Hera-ish. Lavet!

    • Sassy June 19, 2012 at 1:08 AM #

      Hahah. VERY. ;) You’re very welcome! And thanks for refreshing my memory! :D

    • Lapiskamay June 19, 2012 at 2:22 AM #

      So Addie you have another victim, again!? haha
      ^_^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 764 other followers

